Intro/Thank you/ Brush Pack Request

Hello everyone. I’d like to begin by extending a thank you to the wonderful developers and other volunteers that make Mypaint a great program. I’ve been using it for about 2 years now, as an introductory program for digital art. Honestly, I think it’s one of the best programs out there in terms of ease of use and actually getting things done without messing around with 100s of shortcuts, and the UI is very well organized and minimal.

With that said, I find it saddening that the program isn’t used all that much by more visible art creators (most youtube videos, etc, focus on Krita, Clip Studio Paint, or Photoshop). Hopefully I can do my part to help the community grow when resources allow, and we can all see this become a viable option for those working professionally.

Finally, the one thing I’ve always had trouble with is the brush engine. Try as I might I cannot create brushes that simulate oil painting. I’ve used Tone’s brush pack, but they do not seem to scale up well for some reason. My standard workspace is set to A4 size (2480 x 3508). If some kind soul could create some oil painting brushes and post them it would be greatly appreciated!

For an idea of the style I am looking for, watch this speedpaint created in Paintstorm Studio.

Here is a screenshot of the style of brush I am looking for:

Thank you all again for your hard work. I look forward to helping this community grow.

I agree. I have been using it for a couple of months and it’s really great and stable. I think it’s not more widely used only because it’s missing some essential features like selections, lasso tool; scale, rotate, move, resize, flip ops; psd file support and to fix a couple of bugs. I wish I could contribute to the development but I have no experience with Python and GTK+.

As for the brush scaling:

@corumba