Mac Porting, Does Anyone Know?

Hey. I’ve looked everywhere for a simple step-by-step explanation for how to get MyPaint on Mac.

Its clearly advertised that the program can be ported to a Mac platform and I really want to use this program with my Bamboo Tablet for my frame-by-frame animation projects. I totally support this fantastic program. (I’ve used it on PC for a while now.)

There are no real directions on how I can get the App on my Apple computers. So far I’ve gathered that you need to use developer runtimes like XCode or Wine somewhere in the process… but I’m not a developer, I’m just an artist, I don’t know anything about this stuff.

Has anyone successfully ported the program, and could they please explain how one would make it usable on Mac, as advertised?

Couple of other things I’m working with:

• Operating System - OSX Version 10.9.5
  • MyPaint Version - 1.2.0
  • Description of the Problem - Just Need clear Instructions
  • Steps to reproduce it. N/A

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Danny Harrington.
AKA Scarecrowman
harrowedcreations.net

Take a look at this video. It may be a over a year old, but the instructions about the same with the exception of downloading the version for 10.9.5 which is El Capitan correct? Plus he goes over the basics on how to use it.

The packages for Mypaint on MacPorts is MyPaint-devel for unstable and MyPaint for stable version.

On a Side note we really need to update the install instructions for our Mac OSX to make it easier for people to install.

It’s Mavericks that I’m using, actually.

Thanks for the video tutorial.
Macports is a real hassle. Its too bad you guys don’t have any dedicated compiled versions yet. XCode isn’t as easy as it used to be to get a copy of. 4gb download and the app store gives a non-compatible build with my version of Mac, apparently. Didn’t realize I was that out of date.

Does no one have a successfully compiled version they’d be willing to share?