Dm7's Paintings/Doodles

Hi everyone,

I just discovered the world of MyPaint and was thrilled to learn about its ability to mix the colors traditionally thanks to spectral rendering. I being art-software hoarder and have worked with oil paints only know one other art software that can do it, imperfectly mind ya, so imagine my excitement when I learned of this one! :slight_smile: Anyway enough of my ramblings, here are my first 2 works I have done with MyPaint. I’m still learning how it works so don’t expect anything epic. Haha.

~Dm7

8 Likes

More studies and some creative drawings for my concept. :slight_smile: I really like the fact that MyPaint starts with infinite canvas. Perfect for a sketchbook like this one!
https://i.imgur.com/r2akh7a.jpg

6 Likes

I really like those frogs. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Not a doodle today, but I have discovered something. RYB mixes just fine, but CYMK doesn’t mix as vibrant as it should be. I know when I paint with transparent pigments, oil or watercolor, CYMK would mix to vibrant colors. Did I do something wrong or is that the nature of MyPaint’s spectral rendering? What a curious discovery, indeed. :thinking:
https://i.imgur.com/RjkQheN.jpeg

2 Likes

I notice that you don’t get vivid cyan or magenta in the RYB circle. There was quite a bit of discussion about colourmixing a few years ago, which ended up in the mixing tools we have now. Most of it went above my head, so I can’t help you more than linking to the thread: https://community.mypaint.org/t/real-color-blending-wip/390

2 Likes

scan,jpg
I think the program has some sort of problems in detecting greens.
I mean, I painted with a fill brush then smudged the colors and simply held Ctrl (color picker) in brush mode, and slided over the bar (which resembles Romania’s flag btw, lol) and the color triangle in the window spins normally but in the BLUE-YELLOW intersection the gap is faster (as B+Y becomes more like unnoticeable teal/gray).